What is Self-Governance?

Self-Governance is a limited set of health and safety powers that voters can authorize for their county commissions. In counties with Self-Governance, local leaders have the ability to respond to citizen concerns and abate certain identified nuisances in unincorporated areas.

Nuisances that can be abated with Self-Governance are limited to: unsanitary sewage, noise, litter and rubbish, pollution, overgrown weeds, junkyards and animals.

What isn't Self-Governance?

  • It isn't home rule
  • It isn't taxing authority
  • It isn't planning, zoning or otherwise regulating land use

Who has Self-Governance?
Voters in 20 Alabama counties have given their county commissions access to these limited additional health and safety powers: Autauga, Baldwin, Barbour, Bullock, Cherokee, Colbert, Coosa, Dallas, DeKalb, Elmore, Escambia, Geneva, Jackson, Lee, Macon, Madison, Mobile, Monroe, Tuscaloosa and Winston.


"Good government is no substitute for self-government. "
– Mahatma Gandhi



    © 2014 www.SelfGov.net - All Rights Reserved. Designed by SmartWebby.com